“I’m Sorry To…”

Please indulge me for a few moments and allow me to “vent”, as the saying goes.

I have been working the graveyard shift at work, 9:30 PM to 6:00 AM. I usually sleep for about four or five hours when I get home, then take a nap for an hour, hour and a half in the afternoon. Today, for various reasons, I only got about three hours of interrupted sleep which is not good. I got up, showered and went to meet my wife and kids for lunch. Then came back home, did a couple of chores and got ready to take an early (and hopefully extended) nap.

And here comes the “venting”.

Let me start out by saying that if you are going to impose yourself on someone, please don’t make an ass of yourself by qualifying your opening statement with “I’m sorry to…” That’s how my first call from work started. “I’m sorry to bother you but we’ve got an issue with so-and-so.” This happened four different times. About the time I thought I would be able to go to sleep the phone would ring and the voice on the other end would say “I’m sorry to…” Finally, I said “You know, you’re not sorry, otherwise you would stop doing it.”

The “I’m sorry to…” phrase is such a pet peeve of mine and it drives me crazy in almost all situations. We all have to tell people things we know that they won’t want to listen to. We all have to ask favors of people. We all, at one time or another, have to impose on other people. Don’t exacerbate the issue by uttering the ridiculous qualifier. Granted, there are probably a few times when you actually are sorry for the imposition, but, for Heaven’s sake don’t issue the phrase on multiple, consecutive impositions, proving your insincerity.

Here’s how Webster defines sorry: feeling sorrow, regret, or penitence. And that last word is where my argument hinges. One of the synonyms for penitence is repentance, which has as it’s root repent. The definition of repent, again according to Webster is: to turn from sin and dedicate oneself to the amendment of one’s life. If I am truly penitent I will stop doing the thing I am claiming to be sorry for.

So, hey, I realize we’ve all got problems. If you need to impose on me for whatever reason, just do it and get it over with.

And just so you know, I’m really sorry to have bothered you with this post.

One thought on ““I’m Sorry To…”

  1. Rant, rant, rant. whine, whine, whine, boo-hoo, boo-hoo, boo-hoo somebody interupted his sleep! The person having to call him was probably most sincere but was required to call anyway.

Leave a Reply

