Make The World Go Away…

A friend of mine just sent me the following story, the headline reading “Children’s hospital launches sex change for kids program”. It seems that the Children’s Hospital Boston, a renowned pediatrics hospital, is deciding to launch “…a new program to drug children to delay puberty so they can decide whether they want a male or a female body”. The doctor in charge of this program, endocrinologist Norman Spack, “says he started the Gender Management Service Clinic because he found himself encountering 20-somethings who were ‘transgendered’ and in good shape socially, ‘but they were having trouble getting their physique to conform to their identity'”.

Its hard for me to know where to begin with this except to ask – Has the human race gone stark, raving mad?!

First of all let’s assume that I accept the insane notion that one’s “identity” can be separated from their physique/sex. I don’t accept it, but let’s pretend that I do (it is, in fact, a silly idea – your “identity” is determined by your genetic makeup not your feelings). Who in their right mind would think that a child would be emotionally or psychologically ready to “decide” whether or not they wanted to be a boy or a girl for the rest of their lives? And what about legally? I mean, children 10 to 14 years of age (the age range that best suits starting the doctor’s “treatments”) can’t enter into contracts, they can’t drink alcohol or vote, hell, they can’t even see a rated R movie without a parent, but they can decide to change their sex? But hey, at least this guy is giving these kids drugs to delay puberty so they don’t have to deal with that at the same time they’re choosing their “identity”. When my wife was pregnant with our first daughter we saw a Discovery Channel show on hermaphrodites, and on this show they had a psychologist that felt the best way to handle these people was to let them keep both organs until they were 13 or 14, and then let them decide which sex they wanted to be. I remember thinking that I was listening to possibly the dumbest person on the planet. So being a teenager, with all the raging hormones and peer pressure isn’t enough of a challenge for these kids, they also need to decide what sex they want to be for the rest of their lives after having lived all their life as both? I just realized that I’ve used the phrase, “for the rest of their lives”, twice; but I guess I’m wrong on that. In our brave new world it doesn’t really have to be that way, we can all just flip-flop back and forth as many times as we want. But I digress…one of the other decisions these 10 to 14 year-olds are supposed to face is the prospect of becoming sterile as a result of the “treatment”. The good doctor Spack says, “You have to explain to the patients that if they go ahead, they may not be able to have children. … But if you don’t start treatment, they will always have trouble fitting in.” So once again, were asking adolescents – children who we as a society deem not responsible enough to drive a car or drop out of school and enter the workforce – to make the decision that they won’t ever want to have children.

I just find it hard to believe that this idea is not only being thought of, but has actually already been put into practice. And of course after the moral indignation wears off, the sadness just hits me like a ton of bricks right between the eyes. Look at how we are failing our children. Are our future generations going to have any moral compass? Are we willing to sacrifice all of our common sense, our sense of decency or even our sense of reality at the alter of “tolerance” or what “feels” right? As a father of two healthy, beautiful and intelligent daughters it makes me weep to think of the mixed up, through-the-looking-glass maze of a world we are creating for them to navigate.

This all brings to mind a quote by Thomas Jefferson who, when he considered the failure of the Founding Fathers to address the question of slavery, had this to say: “I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just; that his justice cannot sleep forever.”

 

6 thoughts on “Make The World Go Away…

  1. ===
    First of all let’s assume that I accept the insane notion that one’s “identity” can be separated from their physique/sex. I don’t accept it, but let’s pretend that I do (it is, in fact, a silly idea – your “identity” is determined by your genetic makeup not your feelings).
    ===

    Gender identity disorder is a fairly well-accepted thing. Sometimes people are born with sex organs that don’t match their gender. Stuffing your head in the sand and refusing to accept this fact doesn’t change it.

  2. In response to Adam, I would say “accepted by whom?” Psychology is a relatively new field that is very much susceptible to trends that later become debunked by the next wave. I would also say that even if “gender identity disorder” is accepted, the word “disorder” says it all. The fact that a person “…identifies as belonging to another gender, and feels significant discomfort or the inability to deal with this condition” (to quote from wikipedia’s definition of GID), doesn’t actually mean that they are indeed a different sex. The “hard” sciences (biology being the one most authoritative in this case) bear this out. If you are born with male sex organs you are a male. End of story. And finally, I would say that perhaps the person who blindly accepts the latest psychology trends might be the one with his head in the sand.

  3. Apologies for the delayed reply, I’ve been quite busy.

    If you are born with male sex organs then that simply means you have male sex organs. Sex and gender are not one and the same.

    Psychology is a new field just as computers are a new technology. Both seem to work pretty well so far. Both could also be abused. ADD/ADHD is an instance where I think psychology has screwed things up. It probably wont be the last time.

    Your simple view of reality (…”if you’re born with male sex organs, you’re a male…”) ignores very complicated features in the brain that we are only beginning to understand. Perhaps instead of taking an authoritative view on an issue that you are certainly not an expert in, you could at least be open-minded enough to realize your lack of knowledge and experience.

    I’m not an expert in neuroscience or psychology, but if somebody states that they are a man but have female sex organs, who am I to dispute that?

    There’s a world of difference between “blind acceptance” and open-mindedness.

  4. Well Adam, I think we are going to have to agree to disagree. But I wanted to say one more thing. I read another article about this guy and another psychologist said that what Dr. Spack is doing is the equivalent of treating someone’s anorexia by giving them liposuction.

  5. Thank god there is someone so righteous to set us on the straight and narrow path of morality and tell children what they should be feeling! People like you are what kept me closeted all high school.
    <_<

  6. Hey AV, I’m sorry it took me so long to post your comment. I’ve been neglecting my administrative duties. I would never presume to tell anyone what or how to feel. I will however strive to nudge everyone back into the realm of reality. As the saying goes – “your entitled to your own opinions, but not your own facts”

Leave a Reply

