Badge of Honor

I have two daughters, aged 3 and 4, and this past weekend we took them on their first camping trip. We only stayed one night but they had a blast.

4 or 5 weeks ago my oldest daughter got stung by a wasp while she and her sister where taking a walk with Mommy. It flew up her her shorts leg and stung her 5 times before my wife could get her shorts off and kill it. Even thought the incident happened over a month ago my daughter still talks about it as if it occurred yesterday or today. Often when I come home or call from work she’ll say in a very serious tone, “Daddy, you know I have five wasp stings.”

So as we’re backing out of the driveway this past weekend I say, “Are you girls ready to go camping?” and they both excitedly yell “Yeah!” Then my youngest daughter offers up the following statement: “I sure hope I get stung by a wasp!” I thought that I must have misheard her, so I asked if she meant she hoped she didn’t get stung by a wasp. But she stuck with her first statement, “No, I want to get a wasp sting.” I told her that wasp stings really hurt and that she really didn’t want to get one. Her reply to this was, “Well, maybe a spider bite would be OK.”

I had to laugh that it appears that getting bitten by a bug seems to have become a badge of honor to my daughters.

While we were at our campsite the same daughter fell down and got a pretty good gash on her knee. After a few tears and Mommy cleaning the wound, she ran over to me and exclaimed, “Daddy! Look at my knee!” I looked it over; “Hmmm, that’s almost as good as a wasp sting, huh?” My daughter tilted her head up and a serious, thoughtful look crossed her face; then after a moment she smiled and said “Almost.”

2 thoughts on “Badge of Honor

  1. By the time you post again your daughters will be 10 and 11. For honor they will be wrestling alligators and beating up conservatives.

  2. Badge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of HonorBadge of Honor.YouSuck.

Leave a Reply

