Magnificent Monday Quotes

I’ve been thinking about doing a post a week that is basically just quotes that I’ve run across over the past week. And since I already had a few saved up and today is Monday, I guess the weekly quote post will be on Mondays. So enjoy “Magnificent Monday Quotes”.

“Is not the fanaticism of your irreligion more absurd and more dangerous than the fanaticism of superstition? Begin by tolerating the faith of your fathers. You talk of nothing but tolerance, and never was a sect more intolerant.” – Elie Catherine Freron

I didn’t know who Freron was when I came across this but, thanks to the magic of the internet, I quickly found out that he was a French philosopher and critic of the French Enlightenment movement of of Voltaire especially.

“I destroy my enemies when I make them my friends.” – Abraham Lincoln

“You say that it is your custom to burn widows. Very well. We also have a custom: when men burn a woman alive, we tie a rope around their necks and we hang them. Build your funeral pyre; beside it, my carpenters will build a gallows. You follow your custom. And then we will follow ours.” – General Charles Napier

That’s one of my favorite quotes. Napier is referring to the Indian practice of “suttee” – the tradition of burning widows on the funeral pyres of their husbands.

“All great things are simple, and many can be expressed in single words: freedom, justice, honor, duty, mercy, hope.” – Sir Winston Churchill

“It is the nature of all greatness not to be exact.” – Edmund Burke

I included the above for a co-worker of mine who has the maddening policy of never giving anyone a direct answer to any question. You know who I’m talking about LO III.

“If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there’d be a shortage of sand.” – Milton Friedman

Since baseball season is right around the corner, I’ll call it a post with two quotes about the Great Game.

“I see great things in baseball. It’s our game – the American game. It will take our people out-of-doors, fill them with oxygen, give them a larger physical stoicism. Tend to relieve us from being a nervous, dyspeptic set. Repair these losses, and be a blessing to us.” – Walt Whitman

“If a woman has to choose between catching a fly ball and saving an infant’s life, she will choose to save the infant’s life without even considering if there are men on base.” – Dave Barry

3 thoughts on “Magnificent Monday Quotes

  1. Magnificent Monday quotes… Tedious Tuesday Quotes…Want Something Else Wednesday Quotes…Time to Write another Post Thursday Quotes…Someday Something Else Saturday Quotes…Surrender to the Fact that this Blog is Dead Sunday Quotes…Mediocre Monday Monotony…Tuesday inTerminable Tautology.

Leave a Reply

